Reviews

Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
This place is AWESOME!! Really delicious fresh food and great service. I came here on a Saturday at 7:30 with a group of 6. No problems getting sat right away. The cost per person was about $17 for dinner. Once we sat down we just went to the buffet. A server came over later and took our drink orders. All the food was awesome. For vegan friends there is a whole buffet line labeled "vegan." And for the meat eaters there was a guy making fresh gyros and kofta. For desert many options but my favorite was the balaclava. I live in Chicago and have not found a buffet like this or of this caliber there. At the end we paid at the front. Check out this delicious and yummy new local addition to Coralville.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
I heard about this place a while back But was too busy to visit... now I regret not coming sooner because this place great!! As a Middle Eastern who grew up with home-made Arab food, I'm very skeptical to any place that wants to claim they are "authentic" Mediterranean. Sorry Mom, but this place gets 5/5 in my book. Great food (7 buffet lines) with lots of variety. There is also a grilled-to-eat chicken/beef where the chef makes you kabobs. Will be back again!
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
This place has an amazing variety of salads, main dishes, and desserts - very authentic and delicious. Excellent service.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
Absolutely the BEST middle eastern cuisine, buffet style! Huge fresh selection of all the favorites. Only open 3 weeks, you must give it a try. Great prices and service. About 4 minutes from the I80 Coralville, Iowa exits. My grandson and I loved it!
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
I loved everything about this place. The wait staff and owners greet you as if you are family...very helpful and friendly while offering help if you want to know what is in a particular dish. The flavors are so rich and savory! I will be back and highly recommend it to all! The tea was also delicious!
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
So many varieties, all delicious, and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The food is authentic Egyptian food that reminds me of home. You can tell it's is all prepared fresh, none of that canned stuff. Hands down one of the best buffets I've been to.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
Unique buffet, just opened a few weeks ago. I went for dinner with my family a few days ago. Food had an authentic Egyptian feel that I've never experienced before (well, never traveled to the Middle East...). There is nothing like it here in Iowa. - The owner was right there the whole time, supervising and helping out. - Don't miss the grill for freshly cooked meat. - The only genuine tzatziki I know of in greater Iowa City (I've had to make it myself sometimes for cravings). Two down sides: - Price for dinner is a little high. But it's a unique concept for a buffet, selection was both diverse and well stocked and I shudder to think of their costs. - My teenage son found the food a little "different." If you're looking for chicken wings, pizza, and egg rolls, you might be disappointed. If you have a craving for Pizza Ranch, don't go here, go to Pizza Ranch. Shout out to the four Heyn's ice cream selections in their desert section - a nice local touch which shows premium quality.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
We went for dinner last night and we'll be back again! Variety of choices with meat and vegan dishes, a grill where the chef cooks up different meats with veggies on the spot, desserts and candies, and such delightful service and attention. We enjoyed multiple plates of good food and left very satisfied and looking forward to next time Would highly recommend!
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
First visit, but definitely not my last. It is a Mediterranean restaurant with recipes from Lebanon, Egypt, Greece and others. It is not an Italian restaurant. It is a buffet, not usually my favorite format, but the food truly was glorious, well prepared, well prepared and varied. It seems to be all you care to eat for one price (drinks other than water, extra.) For those to whom this is important, they do not have and don't seem likely to get a license to serve alcohol. They will be open for lunch and supper. Really tastey food and pleasant, low key atmosphere.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
YUM! My husband and I just left,and we are full of deliciousnessThere were so many options, and everything was labeled well--pasta dishes, fresh salads, and freshly grilled meats and veggies. My husband enjoyed the Heyn's ice cream and baklava for dessertThe staff was super friendly--we will be back!!
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
Great variety of Mediterranean options. Meats cooked to order, koofta and shawerma were excellent. Various pickles and olives, an entire island of vegan dishes. Staff is super friendly and helpful if you have any questions. Will definitely be back.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
Mediterranean food at its best! I only had one other 'favorite' place in all the diverse restaurants in Iowa City... Tabooleh has now replaced them. The food was so beautifully presented, such care in how the food looks is important to me. The tastes, the flavors were remarkable; fresh foods , nothing from a corporate food service. OH my, I don't eat a lot but I'd eat at this buffet just to sample, it's so good. We 'split' the desserts because we didn't want to overindulge. Next time, I'm starting with a dessert sample. ( I believe you can also purchase the desserts for take away). I'd go to Iowa City (from Niles MI) just to indulge in the wonderful flavors.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
I personally loved my experience there. The food reminded me of my homeland, Egypt, and the staff were very assisting. Overall, a great atmosphere and a wonderful experience. I would come back for sure!
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
So many varieties, all delicious, and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Hands down one of the best buffets I've been to.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-04-04
A wonderful addition, so happy to have a mediterranean option in the IC/Coralville area! Staff were nice and extremely helpful--when we were there, only about 2/3 of the dishes were labeled, but at least 3 different staff came by to say "if you have any questions about any of the dishes, just ask me." A really pretty extraordinary array of choices--one whole vegan table (with hummus and babaganoush), several salads (including a really good tzitziki), pickles, olives, etc. Multiple hot dishes, some expected (falafel) and others not (really crispy terrific fried calamari, a nice breaded fried chicken). Many things I'd never had or tried before (a lamb and potato dish that was really good) and then you can order things from the grill--I had the kofta which was excellent, husband had chicken which was very good. And a lovely array of desserts (including a table of jars of candy--gummy bears, cotton candy, huge colored marshmallows) that would have made my eyes the size of dinner plates when I was a kid. The food was all fresh, hot and carefully prepared, and again, the staff were lovely. We'll definitely be back.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-05-04
This place is FANTASTIC! There is SUCH a great variety of Mediterranean foods available here – something for every taste! The falafel was exceptionally good – fresh and crunchy. A lot of detail and attention to the different foods, along with warm hospitality, make this place stand out on its own! Nothing else like it around. We also had a Turkish coffee, which was made perfectly! AAA++ We’ll be back again and again!
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-05-19
It is a great restaurant. All food were so delicious. We enjoyed being there.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-05-20
The staff was wonderful, so nice and helpful! The food was exceptional! Not just delicious, but so fresh too! I will definitely be eating here again!
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-08-05
Such a great place
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-11-05
Very good food and service, lots of sweets also.
Anonymous Reviewer
2018-12-02
A wonderful experience, welcoming staff, and superb food. The owner is very involved, gracious, welcoming, and attentive to the quality of the food and the client's experience. This is a much needed addition to the Iowa City area. Thank you! K. Malek
Anonymous Reviewer
2019-01-20
Delicious! I will definitely come back, tasted very authentic and a very good balance of flavors. Waitstaff was also very friendly!
Anonymous Reviewer
2019-02-14
Delicious, healthful and beautifully prepared food, courteous service, and pleasant, relaxing atmosphere. Dining at Tabooleh is always a delightful experience.
Anonymous Reviewer
2019-02-14
Dining at Tabooleh is a delightful experience. The food is delicious, healthful, and beautifully prepared, staff are courteous, and the atmosphere is pleasant and relaxing. A favorite restaurant for my friends and family.
Anonymous Reviewer
2019-03-12
Awesome food very good! Friendly staff!
Anonymous Reviewer
2019-04-13
Ate here for the first time last night and love it. Hasn’t been anything like this in the area before.
Anonymous Reviewer
2019-04-13
Great dishes, clean atmosphere, and prompt service. I am a big fan. Surprised to find this restaurant in Iowa, definitely worth many return visits!
Anonymous Reviewer
2019-05-06
Best food in town at reasonable prices and the owners are wonderful people. I urge all who want good food to give Tabooleh a try.
Anonymous Reviewer
2019-06-25
Best babaganoush appetizer and eggplant sandwich I've ever had! French fries were delicious, too!